Raj B Shetty

Raj B Shetty sweeps Critics Awards; Ganavi Lakshman wins Best Actress

Actor-director Raj B Shetty created history at the 3rd Chandanavana Film Critics Academy Awards 2022 bagging three individual awards for Best Director, Best Actor and Best Screenplay for his gangster saga Garuda Gamana Vrishaba Vahana.

Ganavi Lakshman walked away with the Best Actress Award for her performance in Hero, making her film debut memorable. Another debutant, director Aravind Kuplikar’s Puksatte Lifu won the Best Picture award though it missed out on other categories it was nominated in.

Praveen Shriyan made it four awards for GGVV by winning the Best Editing award. Darshan starrer Roberrt, directed by Tharun Sudhir also won four awards (Best Composer – Arjun Janya, Best Lyricist – Yograj Bhat for the song Kannu Odyaake, Best Cinematography for Sudhakar S Raj and Best Choreography for Bhushan).

Bhajarangi 2, Salaga and Badava Rascal won three awards each. A Harsha directed Bhajarangi 2 swept the technical categories winning Best VFX (Shibeesh and Elangov), Best Stunt Choreography (Ravi Varma) and Best Art Direction (Ravi Santehaiklu).

Badava Rascal won the awards in both the supporting actors categories; Sparsha Rekha (Female) and Rangayana Raghu (Male). Vasuki Vaibhav also won the Best Singer (Male) award for this film.

Actor Duniya Vijay’s debut film ad director Salaga, won the Best Dialogues (Maasti), Best BGM (Charan Raj) and Best Singer (female) for Girija Siddi. Dr.Raghavendra BS won the Best Debut Direction award for Premam Poojyam, for which he score the music as well. Raghavendra Kamat shared the Best Lyrics award for his song in Arjun Gowda.

The Awards were given away at a glittering function in Bengaluru on Saturday evening. A total of 23 Sandalwood film personalities shared the awards across 21 categories for films released in 2021. The winners were selected through a nomination system by Kannada film critics and journalists. This year, the Clean Bengaluru campaign of BBMP was adopted as the theme for the Awards programme.

Winners – Chandanavana Film Critics Academy Awards 2022

1. Best Film – Puksatte Lifu

2. Best Director – Raj B Shetty (Garuda Gamana Vrishaba Vahana)

3. Best Actor – Raj B Shetty (Garuda Gamana Vrishaba Vahana)

4. Best Actress – Ganavi Lakshman (Hero)

5. Best Screenplay – Raj B Shetty (Garuda Gamana Vrishaba Vahana)

6. Best Supporting Actor – Rangayana Raghu (Badava Rascal)

7. Best Supporting Actress – Sparsha Rekha (Badava Rascal)

8. Best Child Actor – Master Mithun (Akshi)

9. Best First Film – Dr. Raghavendra BS (Premam Poojyam)

10. Best Music Director – Arjun Janya – Roberrt

11. Best BGM – Charan Raj (Salaga)

12. Best Lyricist – Yograj Bhat (Kannu Hodeyaake, Roberrt), Raghavendra Kamath (Kanavarike, Arjun Gowda)

13. Best Singer (Male) – Vasuki Vaibhav (Aagaaga Nenapaagutaale, Badava Rascal)

14. Best Singer (female) – Girija Siddi (Tininga Mininga, Salaga)

15. Best Cinematography – Sudhakar Raj (Roberrt)

16. Best Dialogues – Maasti (Salaga)

17. Best Editing – Praveen Shriyan (Garuda Gamana Vrishaba Vahana)

18. Best Art Direction – Ravi Santehaiklu (Bhajarangi 2)

19. Best Choreography – Bhushan (Roberrt)

20. Best Stunt Choreography – Ravi Verma (Bhajarangi 2)

21. Best VFX – Shibish and Elangov (Bhajarangi 2)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here